2014 so far…

Quick summary of 2014 in gigs so far.

 

Nine Below Zero at The Half Moon, Putney. 24.01

Great gig. First time I’ve seen them properly. Saw them in Islington in 2012 but I was pretty ill so don’t actually remember much of it! Cool venue, never been there before. Great, great gig. So much talent and energy. Love Brian’s red suit.

 

The James Hunter Six at Ronnie Scotts. x2 12/15. 03

Me and my mate Jason had wanted to go to Ronnie Scotts for ages. Now I’ve been I don’t really feel the need to go again. The crowd is a very mixed bag. And with the waiters coming and going throughout the show it’s quite distracting. Band were fantastic as always, even with a very talkative audience on the Friday night.

 

Edwyn Collins at Rough Trade West. 19.04

Part of Record Store Day I went to see Edwyn Collins perform outside Rough Trade in Notting Hill. A lovely performance. Seems like an interesting and funny man.

 

Glenn Tilbrook at St Bartholomew’s church, Newton Abbot. 24.04

Lovely. Lovely venue, lovely gig.

 

Nick Lowe at Union Chapel. 09.05

Very interesting venue. The soothing tones of Nick Lowe were exactly what I needed. I need to start exploring his back catalogue. John Paul Jones came out and played bass and mandolin. And later Geraint Watkins joined them. Did Only A Rose which I love. He did I’m A Mess which speaks to me at the moment!

 

Nine Below Zero at 100 Club. 15.05

Always great. And at the 100 Club too.  Cant wait to see them on their 35th anniversary tour in November.

 

The James Hunter Six at 100 Club. 23.05

Always great. Finally felt I was back in the gig-going swing of things with this one. Love the venue too. And James was wearing some very nice shoes.

 

 

 

Leave a comment