Solo Elvis Costello

Kew Gardens, 16.07

Just came down with a throat infection the day before so I knew I shouldn’t go but I’m not one to waste money. Or a gig. Plus it was only around the corner really.

Very middle class gig. Lots of picnic tables and champagne and hampers. Went with my mum and we arrived pretty late so had to get some people to move up a bit so we could sit down but ended up with a fairly good spot about halfway back I think. And when we stood up had a pretty good view of the stage.

Missed the first support band but saw The McManus Brothers who sounded pretty good. Made up of two of Costello’s half brothers.

Really wanted to see this gig as it was solo and I thought it would be interesting to see. Really enjoyed it. Well as much as I could while feeling like absolute crap. Although obviously Kew Gardens is probably not the ideal venue to see Elvis Costello doing an intimate solo show but I’ll take what I can get.

Leave a comment